Reform.by wins Free Media Awards

22.06.2023 Source: REFORM.by

The Reform.by editorial team was awarded the 2023 Free Media Prize for “covering the developments in Belarus under particularly difficult conditions”.

Ukrainian journalists Sevgil Musayeva and Yury Nikolov, editors of OC Media (Georgia), and Vazhnye Istorii (Russia) are also among the winners.

“In 2021, Reform.by, like all independent Belarusian media, was blocked by the Ministry of Information, and the editorial staff was forced to leave the country. Despite this, Reform.by remains in contact with its sources in Belarus and continues to work under extremely risky conditions. In addition to insightful interviews, in-depth featured articles, and a diversity of opinions, the platform stands out for its investigative journalism,” the press release said.

The Free Media Award was established by the Norwegian Fritt Ord Foundation and the German ZEIT-Stiftung. It is awarded annually to Ukrainian, Russian, and Belarusian journalists and media outlets to recognize their outstanding journalistic work and aims to strengthen independent reporting on events in Eastern Europe.

The award ceremony will take place in Hamburg on September 14.

Previously, the prize has been awarded to Brestski Kuryer, BDG, Narodnaya Volya, Belarusy I Rynok, Intex-press, Sviatlana Kalinkina, BelaPAN, Vitebski Kuryer, Salidarnasc, Nasha Niva, CDMag, Gazeta Slonimskaya, Ezhednevnik, Novy Chas, Borisovskie Novosti, Maryna Koktysh, Valer Karbalevich, Aliaksandr Klaskouski, Belorusski Partizan, Katsiaryna Barysevich, Katsiaryna Andreyeva, Daria Chultsova, Natallia Lubneuskaya, TUT.BY, BAJ.

Read more:

BAJ piece on dismissed state TV employees deemed “extremist”

“We stand in full solidarity with our brave colleagues!” The IFJ keeps torch of solidarity with journalist prisoners burning

Tatsiana Pytsko prosecuted for helping her husband, videographer Viachaslau Lazarau